Five Things I Love About Paris

Eiffel Tower

The first time I went to Paris, I was 16, and I was in awe. I walked the cobbled streets on a quick half day layover before catching my connecting flight to Madagascar out of Charles de Gaulle. The next time I visited the City of Light was at 29, freshly divorced and contemplating what to do with my life. It was then, on that introspective trip, that I knew I would live in the city someday.

Well my friends, the time has come! On January 27, 2014, Steve and I will be flying to Paris fresh from Steve’s 40th birthday bash in Bali, ready to settle in for the winter. We hope to follow in the footsteps of the great writers before us–Hemingway, Fitzgerald–and spend our days exploring hidden neighborhoods and eating cheese and croissants. I still have a few months and a few other adventures to have before I make my way to Europe, but since I’m in a Parisian mood, I decided to write up the top five things I love about Paris!

1. Cafe Creme. I love a good cafe creme. The milky coffee drink sustained me on my last visit during a dreary week in November. Is it raining? No problem, pop into the nearest cafe and order me up a Cafe Creme, one sugar please.

2. Versailles. I love Marie Antoinette. Or maybe I’m just jealous of all her shoes as portrayed in the movie by Sophia Coppola. I know she was an oblivious queen, uncaring of the plight of the common people, but there’s something about her opulent lifestyle that just makes me wish I could have seen Versailles in it heyday. The sprawling gardens, decadent architecture and lavish lifestyle captivate me, and I love walking the grounds imagining I’m a lady in waiting (I wouldn’t want to be the lady herself you know, considering she came to a headless end).

3. Champagne. I often think that if I could only drink one beverage for the rest of my life, it would be champagne. The crisp bubbly happiness of it is just irresistible to me, so much so that when I live in France, I may have to remind myself to drink water now and again.

4. Bread products. Here’s a question for you. If Leslie eats five croissants and a baguette (with cheese!) each day she’s living in Paris, at the end of three months, how much weight will she have gained? It really is a good math problem, one that I hope to solve by exploring the city on foot daily to keep the calories at bay.

5. Montmartre. On my last trip to Paris, I stayed in the CUTEST apartment near the Sacre Coeur in Montmartre. Walking out the door every day into the square overflowing with artists and musicians, and seeing that spectacular view of the Eiffel Tower looming large over the hazy city below is one of my favorite memories. One that I soon hope to recreate.

Do you agree? What are your favorite things about Paris? 

Photo courtesy of black-and-whitephotos.blogspot.com

5 responses to “Five Things I Love About Paris

  1. I daresay, based on previous experience, you won’t gain weight eating baguettes and croissants in Paris.!
    I drank wine, ate baguettes and cheese, walked, visited, and lost 10 lbs. Well okay, disclaimer, I was a younger woman then..
    I still think it works as a good diet. Paris and food, with walks.!

Leave a Reply

