Chicest Hot Springs: Termas Cacheuta, Mendoza, Argentina

Chicest Hot Springs

About an hour outside of Mendoza in the Andean foothills lies the Termas Cacheuta–the chicest hot springs I have ever visited. Perched on a bluff overlooking the lazy Mendoza River in the canyon below, I fell in love with Termas Cacheuta at first glance. This hotel, spa and hot springs power trio offers everything a girl could ask for in the way of relaxation. And while massage, mud treatments and steam rooms abound, the real draw to me was the spectacular outdoor stone pools.

The pools

Once I had my towel and robe in hand, the spa staff instructed me to start in the coolest pool first, working my way to the hottest for maximum skin glowage (my term, not theirs!). After basking in water ranging from arctic to tepid to fiery, I was told it was time to coat myself with a thick, gooey mud. I joined a few fellow spa goers in the fun of glopping the mucilaginous muck all over our bodies. Once our swamp creature makeovers were complete, we were instructed to stand on a special sun deck where we waited for the mud to dry, supposedly sucking out impurities in the pores as it hardened and tightened. Trust me, if you’re looking for a way to make new friends, standing half naked and covered in mud is the way to go. Once we were baked to perfection, the mud was rinsed, and the pool hopping continued.

The day passed in a blur of sunshine and blissed out tranquility, my only regret that I forgot to bring my camera to document the lovely scene. But did the mud treatment work, you ask? Affirmative. Absolute glowage achieved.

Photos courtesy of tripadvisor.com and southvoyage.com

2 responses to “Chicest Hot Springs: Termas Cacheuta, Mendoza, Argentina

  1. So pretty! And sounds so relaxing. I want to go here!!

    Sent from my iPhone Please excuse the brevity

Leave a Reply

