Iguazu Falls: Where a Picture is Worth A Million Words

Welcome to Iguazu Falls!

Welcome to Iguazu Falls!

As a journalist, I know the phrase, “a picture is worth a thousand words” is a terribly overused cliche. But phrases become cliche for a reason, and in the case of Iguazu Falls, the spectacular mass of water cascading thunderously down hundreds of feet of the Iguazu River between the borders of Argentina and Brazil, it is absolutely true. Among the top three largest waterfalls in the world in terms of height, volume of water and width, the scene playing out before my eyes left me speechless, and I determined that my photos would paint a much better picture than my measly words ever could. So behold, my day at Iguazu Falls! (Note: All photos taken from the Argentina side of the falls.)

The pathway leading to the big draw–Devil's Throat.

The pathway leading to the big draw–Devil’s Throat.

Hope this doesn't happen often!

Hope this doesn’t happen often!

The roaring grows deafening as you approach Devil's Throat.

The roaring grows deafening as you approach Devil’s Throat.

I can't deny that standing above, staring into the misty abyss was terrifying!

I can’t deny that standing above, staring into the misty abyss was terrifying!

I was shaking in my flip flops!

I was shaking in my flip flops!

A caiman chilling near the falls–don't get too close little guy!

A caiman chilling near the falls–don’t get too close little guy!

A view of the upper falls from the lower falls. I was blown away by beauty!

A view of the upper falls from the lower falls. I was blown away by beauty!

So many animals! I joined the crowd taking pictures of this funny little monkey.

So many animals! I joined the crowd taking pictures of this funny little monkey.

Double rainbows abounded, but sadly I did not find a pot of gold.

Double rainbows abounded, but sadly I did not find a pot of gold.

Every view was more amazing than the last!

Every view was more amazing than the last!

A cute little coati looking for food. They are considered the rats of Iguazu.

A cute little coati looking for food. They are considered the rats of Iguazu.

I couldn't help smile at all the beauty. Since I was exploring alone, I must have looked a little crazy.

I couldn’t help smile at all the beauty. Since I was exploring alone, I must have looked a little crazy.

5 responses to “Iguazu Falls: Where a Picture is Worth A Million Words

  1. Hi Leslie Anne, nice to meet you. Isn’t Iguazu amazing?!! I first went (from the Brazilian side) in 1978. That bridge you walked across – is that across the top of the falls? I don’t think it was there in ’78 lol. There’s some islands in the middle of the river at the top of the falls and I went in a little open boat with a tiny outboard to one of the islands and could look down on them from the top. I am still alive to tell the tale! We plan to visit again later this year since Don hasn’t been. Have also just put Valpo on our list since reading your post about it.
    Thanks for the visit to our blog and for following. I hope you enjoy the stories of our journey, both inner and outer. Continuing in Mexico for the next 4 weeks then Sweden, Montreal, and then 6 months in South and Central America. After that we have no idea. Off now to explore Steven’s blog.
    Cheers
    Alison

Leave a Reply

