Museum Moment


Despite having travelled extensively, I feel that my international museum intake has been severely lacking. Though I’ve visited the British Museum in London and the Egyptian Museum in Cairo, I’ve been to Paris and New York and yet the Louvre and the MET remain enigmas on my museum passport. I decided to remedy this dearth of museum visits in an effort to feel more cultural, and fortunately this brainwave came to me as a revelation whilst on assignment in LA, so the Getty was the nearest opportunity. Although I had less than two hours – only one hour and 15 minutes to be precise – due to the unfortunate fact that I was “working”, I figured, why the heck not! I’m so glad I did. Architecturally stunning, the Getty is reached by taking a Disneyland style tram up a hill from the parking lot below. Upon reaching the top, The Getty is spectacularly perched on a hill overlooking Los Angeles and the ocean beyond. The visionary Getty architect Richard Meier ensured that everywhere you look, courtyards, gardens, fountains, staircases and ceilings seem to defy gravity and become works of art in their own right, adding marvelously to the already impressive collection of art housed here. Impressionist paintings, medieval illuminated manuscripts, renaissance sculptures and drawings…myriad eras and genres of art are represented in this mid-century modern meets futuristic space.
The museum’s collection began in 1954 by the oil tycoon J. Paul Getty when he originally opened a portion of his Malibu home to the public. He soon amassed so many antiquities that he built an entire villa dedicated to art. It wasn’t until 1997 That the Getty’s current location was erected. Nowadays, the Malibu Villa houses the Getty’s collection of Greek, Roman and Etruscan art. Though my foray to the Getty was dismally abbreviated, my day was still pleasantly infused with art and I vow to continue my life on the museum trajectory.

Leave a Reply

