In Cleopatra’s Wake


For six days I had the luxurious experience of cruising the Nile River from Luxor to Aswan and back like so many royal Egyptians before me. I have always wanted to take a Nile cruise, to feel like Cleopatra languishing on the deck, drinking wine garnished with pearls and being fanned by my harem of handsome, scantily-clad attendants. Although I didn’t get to drink a pearl, and the crew were fully clothed, I did get to loll about all day, watching the lush delta landscape pass me by. Remote villages, forgotten temples, a sporadic camel, and stunning sunsets were viewed from the deck of what I considered my very own barge, and for a few brief days I really did feel like royalty.

Leave a Reply

